The effect of the PGO Group's long-standing presence in industry is not only the refined quality and valuable know-how. A unique combination of experience, modern management and engineering development allows us to compete with the best European manufacturers of castings and forgings.

The PGO Group was established as a capital group in 2008, but the PGO Group's production facilities have been successfully operating in the industrial market for several decades. The beginnings of the GLINIK Forging Shop date back to 1883, the PIOMA Foundry was launched in 1960 and the ŚREM Iron Foundry was established in 1964. The strength of the PGO Group is its knowledge combined with the experience of several generations of forgers and foundry workers.

 

1883 - 1894

The Canadian engineer Wiliam Mac Garvey and the Austrian financier John Simeon Bergheim found an oil refinery and a tool and repair plant in Glinik Mariampolski in 1883.

1895 - 1939

  • W. Mac Garvey and J. Bergheim receive a licence to incorporate the Galician Carpathian Petroleum Joint-Stock Company.
  • The workshop begins its operation as an independent Factory of Drilling Machines and Tools.
  • The plant transforms into the Factory of Drilling Machines and Equipment and is the best of its kind in Europe until the outbreak of World War II.

1939-1945

During World War II the factory is managed by the German company Karpathen Oil AG.

1945-1960

After the war, the factory changes its name to the Central Oil Workshops and regains its production potential. The plant is expanded, new production facilities and warehouses are built, and the machine park is expanded and modernised. New welfare facilities are built. The factory regains its high position in the market of drilling equipment, tools and accessories. It launches a factory of rotary tools (drill bits) and produces deep drilling equipment.

1960

The PIOMA Foundry – a production plant that supported the Pioma Mining Machinery Factory is founded in Piotrków Trybunalski.

1962

The company changes its name to the Glinik Drilling Machines and Equipment Factory.

1964–1974

The ŚREM Iron Foundry is founded.

1968

The ŚREM Iron Foundry launches its production.

1968

The Glinik Drilling Machines and Equipment Factory commences its production of machinery and equipment for mechanisation of mining works in hard coal mines. A new plant with a forge, die forging plant and a heat and power plant is built. The foundry develops its production and enters new markets in China, England, Yugoslavia and Hungary.

1973

The plant changes its name to the Glinik Drilling and Mining Machines.

1980-1989

The factory offers new products for coal mining: ploughs, conveyors, high-performance longwall systems. The production of mechanised housings of longwalls with caving and backfill was developed. Export to the East develops intensively.

1990

The process of privatisation, structural and organisational changes begins. The company is transformed into a sole shareholder company of the State Treasury – Fabryka Maszyn Glinik S.A. [Glinik Machinery Factory PLC]. The structure of the company gradually changes into a holding company.

1993

The GLINIK Forging Shop operates as a separate business entity.

1999

The ŚREM Iron Foundry is privatised.

2000

The PIOMA Foundry is privatised.

2001

The Glinik Inwest – a managerial and employee company is incorporated; it purchases 87.84% of the shares of Fabryka Maszyn "Glinik" S.A. [”Glinik” Machinery Factory PLC] from the National Investment Funds and the State Treasury.

2007

The PIOMA Foundry acquires a majority stake in the ŚREM Iron Foundry.

2008

Polska Grupa Odlewnicza S.A. [Polish Foundry Group PLC] - a capital group comprising the PIOMA Foundry and the ŚREM Iron Foundry is established.

2011

The Polish investment company TDJ S.A. [TDJ PLC] and Inwest "Glinik" S.A. [Inwest “Glinik” PLC] make a final contract for the acquisition of the Glinik Capital Group seated in Gorlice.

TDJ S.A. [TDJ PLC] acquires shares of Fabryka Maszyn "Glinik" S.A. [”Glinik” Machinery Factory PLC] and thus controls over its subsidiaries.

An intensive reconstruction process begins.

2011

Polska Grupa Odlewnicza S.A. [Polish Foundry Group PLC] separates from the Famur Group and debuts on the Warsaw Stock Exchange.

2013

The Glinik Foundry joins Polska Grupa Odlewnicza S.A. [Polish Foundry Group PLC] under the share purchase agreement concluded with TDJ S.A. [TDJ PLC].

2014

The PIOMA Foundry acquires key assets of the Fugo Odlew Sp. z o.o. [Fugo Casting LTD] production plant in Konin.

2017

The Kopex Foundry joins the PGO Group and currently continues its operation as PGO S.A. Odlewnia Staliwa [PGO PLC Steel Foundry], Stalowa Wola Branch.

2017

The Polish Foundry Group changes its name to PGO S.A. [PGO PLC].